top of page

#notacult or Camp Hope named Finalist for Jane Chambers Award

Kate's all-female play #notacult or Camp Hope: An Interview Retrospective of the Accidental Cult that Started an Actual Movement has been named a finalist for the Jane Chambers Award for Feminist Playwriting presented by Association for Theatre in Higher Education and the Women and Theatre Program. Read it on NPX!

"THE JANE CHAMBERS AWARD recognizes new plays and performance texts created by women writers which present a feminist perspective and that provide significant opportunities for female performers. This annual award, founded in 1984, welcomes experimentations in form and in subject matter. It is given in memory of lesbian playwright Jane Chambers, who through her plays such as A Late Snow, My Blue Heaven, Last Summer at Bluefish Cove, and Kudzu became a major feminist voice in American theater." -

2023 Jane Chambers Award

We're pleased to announce the 2023 FINALISTS for the JANE CHAMBERS PRIZE. This year we received 270 submissions adjudicated by 25 readers from across the country. We had 17 finalist plays, including: DAINTY Agyeiwaa Asante [before the flood] Emily Bice THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich The Magician's Sister Jami Brandli #notacult or Camp Hope: The Interview Retrospective of the Accidental Cult that Started an Actual Movement Kate Brennan STAINS Sarah Cho Spay Madison Fiedler Insertion Sarah Groustra The Last Jew Andrea Lepcio The Sunrise from the Moon Hannah Manikowski Louder Caroline V. McGraw EL BACALAO: The Catfish Man Desi Moreno-Penson Local School Board Pamela Morgan Funnie Jessica Moss Cherie Sampson The Body Play Madison Wetzell The Moss Maidens S. Dylan Zwickel


bottom of page